Mondonico A. Williams' Blog

Home » Christian Family » That’s How the Story Goes….

That’s How the Story Goes….

Old Post

My mother used to say, “that’s how the mop flops and the cookie crumble.”  I never really understood that saying.  However, it seemed to come every time things didn’t go my way.  Now that I am much older, I realize that’s how the story (of my life in Christ) goes.

Over the past 3 or so years, I have had to learn a hard but needed lesson.  Shut up, stop complaining, stop being angry with the people around me because they did not put me in any situation I found myself in…The Lord did.  Jeremiah 29:11 say that God knows the plans He has for us.  As I face different trials in this season of life, it is important to remember (as I move forward) that the life I live is no longer mine but Christ that live with in me (Gal 2:20).

According to James 1:2-3, trials come to test our faith, which makes us perfect and complete…(if we pass).  Many times we forget that no one made us take the job that we have.  No one made us go to that school.  No one made us say, “I do” to our spouse.  No one made us invest money in that project.  No one made us do what it took to have children.  All of these things came from God by design to try us.

Every story ever written has had beginning and an ending.  No one knows how the book will begin or end except the author.  He knows the story from the beginning to the end because he developed the story line.  He has laid it all out.  In the story of Life, there is a protagonist and an antagonist.  The most important piece of the Story of Life is to remember that the writer allows the antagonist to be the antagonist. Although the story is mainly about the protagonist, it is not the protagonist’s story, but the author’s.  The protagonist has no say so as relates to the development of the story or the way the story ends.

Hebrews 12:2 tells us to look unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith…This is an interesting teaching.  Why?  A look at the latter part of verse one says …let us run with patience the race that is set before us.  I believe the application here is:  Stay in the story that has been written for you and do it with patience.  Why?  Because; our eyes should be looking to Jesus who is the author and finisher of your faith.  He is the one that will finish the story.  He is the one for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

As a protagonist in the Story of life, we so often want to be in control.  We think we know what’s best for us.  We have to be content with the story the Author, Jesus has written before the foundation on the world.

Oh before I forget…The book entitled Life-Life is i figment of my imagination.  I desgined the cover for this blog.  You won’t find this in your local book store or anywhere for that matter.  Jimmy Soulchild does not exist…as far as I know!

Leave a Reply

