Mondonico A. Williams' Blog

Home » Uncategorized » The Big Cookie

The Big Cookie

Old Post

My lovely wife baked cookies tonight and they were very tasty.  When the cookies were done, our four year old son ran to the kitchen to be the first one to stake his claim on the BIGGEST cookie.   As a Christian father, I attempt to use every moment as a teaching one; therefore, I decides to use this as one of those moments.  Here is how the dialogue went:

Me: Son I’m the dad, so I get to choose which one I want first.  When you become a dad and the head of your house, you can do whatever Jesus tell you.

Kylen:  (with a sincerity heart and facial expression) Dad, did Jesus tell you to get that big cookie.

The only thing I could do was laugh.  I don’t think he thought it was funny but Toshia and I had a great laugh.  Lesson learned:  Never underestimate your child’s ability to comprehend practical bible teachings.  He associated my choosing of the Big Cookie with my ability and responsibility of being obedient to God.  Deuteronomy 6:7 says, “You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.”  The whole duty of a Christian parent is to teach our children the way of the Lord. I challenge you to use every moment as a practical biblical teaching moment.


Leave a Reply

